Three More Days!

Only 3 days until the Vermont City Marathon. I am running the first leg of the race which is about 3.5 miles. My training started back in February. I was doing really well up until 2 1/2 weeks ago when my daughter got sick and I couldn’t run. I am bummed because I was doing really well with my times and my body was prepared for it. I ran Monday night 2.11 miles and my time was better than I thought but it was still slow. I managed to get a run in at lunch. It was super hilly and it was a good run rough estimate of 1.8 miles. I have a long walk planned on Friday if the weather lets me. Saturday will be my rest day and Sunday is RACE DAY!

All the training I have done has been outdoors. I don’t have a treadmill and I don’t have a gym pass. I was going to do this with spending the least amount of money possible. I have purchased a new simg_3616.jpgports bra, new running shoes, new sock and some music for my phone. I’ve run with our dog, our daughter in the jogging stroller, with music and without. I run when I can. I run after work, or on a lunch break or after 8 pm when our daughter has gone to bed. My husband has been amazing with the support but encouraging me and making sure I have time to get out there and run.

I am nervous heading into Sunday. I have never run in a race before and I’ve never watched the marathon. I have no idea what to expect. I am looking forward to the race and I am really looking forward to being done with it too.

I am really happy that my husband and daughter will be there to support me on race day. This means a lot. Especially since the race starts at 7 am and I am running in the first leg. I know accomplishing something like this will be huge to me. This is beyond anything I ever thought I would be doing so I can’t wait to cross that finish line!

Leave a Reply

